My Perspective of “Green Book” and Racism during Don Shirley’s Musicial Career

Trevor Lee
2 min readMar 21, 2019

--

A well-known and iconic African American pianist struggling with racism with a chauffeur throughout the country.

“Green Book” was a movie that was completely something else and it shocked me in a way that I haven’t seen before in a movie. I was able to see through Don Shirley’s career as the most talented pianist when African Americans were dealing with discrimination against Caucasians all throughout the country, however the only way to prove his talent was performing at concerts. I was shocked that he had to deal with the sense of segregation amongst the Caucasian community, which was mostly common during that historic period in American history. It was very interesting to learn about how the Green Book was the main guide for African Americans to get through the U.S., i.e. types of restaurants for dining, hotels, movie theaters or how to find safe haven from all of the hateful segregation against the Whites. I enjoyed watching Mahershala Ali and Viggo Mortensen discuss about their characters, including how the movie inspired them and the “Green Book”. I enjoyed how Don was able to stand up for himself during certain times when he felt the power of racism, especially during his music tour. What I discovered was the most fascinating part of the movie was when Don performed in the bar with African Americans and expressed his talents like no other with the jazz band. The bonding between Don and Tony was a type of friendship that could not be separated, i.e. how Don was able to compose love letters for Tony’s wife. I’m proud “Green Book” won the Best Picture during the Oscars.

--

--